I won’t lie a bit if I say that I’ve forgotten lately how a fast-paced bodyweight workout with no equipment at all feels. It’s been over a year since I did my last absolutely equipment-free workout and I don’t even remember what it was. But I found out today that on the 1st of April it will be my first anniversary since I’ve made a commitment to exercise regularly to transform my body. I think I should look for an old picture from back then and compare it to the most recent ones to see the changes. I know there have been a lot of changes. I have developed some rock-hard muscles (but I’m still not bulky and even pretty thin), I have dropped body fat % from about 18% to 12.5%, which is very low, but fine for athletic people. So, it’s been a great year, I’ve learned a lot, gained a lot more. I don’t know where I would have been today if I hadn’t made the commitment to stick to my workouts no matter what.

The reason why I suddenly remembered the bodyweight home workouts when I haven’t exercised at home for months now is my friend. We had a nice long chat yesterday, and at one point she asked me who planned my workouts. When I only started, I always asked my husband about different exercises and I let him plan my program. As I became more and more experienced I went to asking him for advice if I wasn’t sure at something, but I tried to plan my new workouts myself. This goes on up to date – I plan the workouts, but I might ask him for a piece of advice as he is more experienced than I am. Back to my friend, she decided to start exercising and watched tons of videos and workout routines, it all became too overwhelming and she admitted that she didn’t know what to do. And I understand her, I’ve been in that boat. More than that, when I was in that boat, anyone around me has had way more experience than I. And now I have overtaken most of them.

Back to my friend again, she kind of suggested that she’d appreciate my help in planning a workout routine, and I said, sure, I’ll create a couple of routines tomorrow. I asked her what muscles she wanted to target, what kind of equipment she had and how much time. The last two were crucial: she starts her day at work very early and by the time she’s home she doesn’t have a lot of time to spend on long workouts, so she needs something short. And she also doesn’t have any equipment except for 2 and 5 kg dumbbells which she doesn’t want to use anyway, at least not now. The muscle groups she wants to target are common for most ladies – abs, legs, bum and triceps.

So, my suggestion was to plan 3 different workouts, so she can spend less time per session but still have some toning and fat-burning exercises every time. To mix things up a bit, so she doesn’t get bored with the same routine, I chose Circuit training for workout no. 1, 6/5 cardio + abs workout for no. 2, and a AMRAP-style workout for no. 3.

The first one, a Bodyweight Equipment-Free Home Workout, I’m sharing now with you. Welcome to the workout no. 1 – Circuit training. It takes only about 15 minutes.

Perform 3 rounds of 6 exercises with as little rest between the rounds as possible.

  1. Push Ups – 10 reps.push-up
  2. Squats – 15 reps.20100624-no-equipment-1-600x411
  3. Russian Twists – 10 reps each side.
  4. Triceps Push Ups off the table – 10 reps. (Keep your elbows close to your body to engage triceps).off-table-push-up
  5. Single Leg Bridge Lifts – 10 reps each leg.
  6. Crunches – 15 reps.

This is it. Despite it being bodyweight only, it still makes your heart race and gets you out of breath. I hope you like it! I am definitely going to spend the weekend doing my three new bodyweight workouts, the rest of which will be up shortly.

Disclaimer: All of the photos are found through Bing search.

Leave a comment